Bar Sponsor

Table Sponsors

The 2020 AIA Florida Gulf Coast Design Awards is designed to encourage excellence in architecture, to elevate the public consciousness of good design, and to recognize owners, designers, and contractors whose work enriches the built environment.

The program recognizes great design and a commitment to service, which contributes to the advancement of the profession. The winners will be honored at the Design Awards Gala on April 16, 2020.





Projects submitted must have been completed within the immediate past five calendar years and be substantially complete by the date of submission for built work awards.

The program is open to architectural projects of all sizes and classifications, Eligible projects include single buildings, groups of buildings, parks and plazas, historic preservations, additions, remodeling, adaptive reused and interiors.

Completed projects by licensed architects [1] who are a member of the AIA Florida Gulf Coast Chapter are eligible regardless of where their projects are located.  Alternatively projects completed by architects licensed in the Florida/Caribbean region but not a member of the AIA Florida Gulf Coast Chapter are eligible on the condition that the project being submitted is located in the Gulf Coast Chapter region [2].

All architects submitting projects (or portions thereof) must designate authorship of each portion of the project.  The submitting architect may qualify as a member of a design team, whether or not serving as the head of the team.  When one architect is not the sole author, all other participants contributing substantially to the design of the project must be given credit as part of the submission, regardless of professional discipline.

Work which has previously been awarded an AIA Florida Gulf Coast Design Award is NOT eligible for entering in the same category.

[1] For purposes of the Design Awards Program, a licensed architect is defined as a person who is registered to practice architecture in the Florida/Caribbean region.

[2] For the purposes of the Design Awards Program, Gulf Coast region is defined as Manatee, Sarasota, Highlands, Hardee, & Desoto counties.

Registration is $75 for members and $95 for non-members before February  18, 2018.

Late registration is $95 for members and $115 for non-member from February 18 through February 28.  No registrations will be accepted after 11:59 pm on February 28, 2018.

Once registered, a submittal template, concealed ID form and board requirements will be emailed

Submission deadline for ALL award categories is March 23, 2018 by 11:59 pm.

Categories: (Click HERE for complete description)

  • New Work- Residential
  • New Work -  Commercial and Public
  • Renovations and Additions
  • Historic Preservation and Restoration
  • Interior Architecture
  • Unbuilt Work
  • Sustainable Design
  • Innovation with Materials
  • Associate Level
  • Theoretical and Research
  • Spirit of Sarasota

The Design Awards dinner will be held on April 16, 2020 at the Art Ovation Hotel. Click below for sponsorship information.


Consider nominating someone for an Honor Award. Click HERE for the nomination form.

More Information

Questions? Please contact info@aiagulfcoast.org

AIA Florida Gulf Coast Chapter | P.O. Box 160 | Sarasota | FL | 34230 | info@aiagulfcoast.org | 941.315.8242

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software